A hockey player from Zabrze in the Canadian national team for the Olympics

The roster, announced Thursday by the Canadian federation, includes 25 players from seven leagues in North America and Europe. Combined, they all have 5,544 NHL games, but none of them are in the league yet. The NHL has not agreed to release its players for the Olympics.

The most decorated Canadian international is Chris Kelly, 37 (833 NHL games), winner of the Stanley Cup in 2011 from the Boston Bruins. Wolski, 31, played in the NHL from 2005 to 2013, representing five clubs: the Colorado Avalanche, Phoenix Coyotes, New York Rangers, Florida Panthers and Washington Capitals. In total, he played 451 NHL games, scored 99 goals and had 168 assists. Since 2013, he has participated in the KHL league in Russian clubs and in a Chinese club (Kunlun Red Star 2017).

The team was selected by a group of managers and coaches led by Sean Burke.

“All of Canada, 36 million people, will be cheering on this team which aims to show the world that we will always be a force to be reckoned with,” said Canadian Olympic Mission chief Isabelle Charest.

Canada is a powerhouse in this sport. Klonowy Liścia hockey players have won 13 Olympic medals, including nine gold. They have triumphed in the last two games in Vancouver (2010) and Sochi (2014), where they beat the Swedes 3-0 in the final.

In Pyeongchang, the Canadians will open the competition on February 15 with a match against Switzerland (Group A).

Canadian team:

goalkeepers: Justin Peters (Koelner Haie, DEL League), Kevin Poulin (Medvescak Zagreb, EBEL), Ben Scrivens (Salawat Yulayev Ufa, KHL);

defenders: Stefan Elliott (HV71 Joenkoeping, SHL), Chay Genoway (Lada Togliatti, KHL), Cody Goloubef (Stockton, AHL), Marc-André Gragnani (HC Dynamo Minsk, KHL), Chris Lee (Metalurg Magnitogorsk, KHL), Maxim Noreau ( SC Bern, NLA), Mat Robinson (CSKA Moscow, KHL), Karl Stollery (Dynamo Riga, KHL);

attackers: Rene Bourque (Djurgardens IF, SHL), Gilbert Brule (Kunlun Red Star, KHL), Andrew Ebbett (SC Bern, NLA), Quinton Howden (HC Dynamo Minsk, KHL), Chris Kelly (Belleville, AHL), Rob Klinkhammer (Ak Bars Kazan, KHL), Brandon Kozun (Lokomotiw Jarosław, KHL), Maxim Lapierre (HC Lugano, NLA), Eric O’Dell (HC Sochi, KHL), Mason Raymond (SC Berno, NLA), Derek Roy (Linkoeping HC, SHL), Christian Thomas (Scranton, AHL), Linden Vey (Barys Astana, KHL), Wojtek Wolski (Metalurg Magnitogorsk, KHL).


Go to Polsatsport.pl

Alec Dittman

"Web specialist. Social media ninja. Amateur food aficionado. Alcohol advocate. General creator. Beer guru."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *