After the emotions of the Grand Slam, it’s time for the national teams. Novak Djokovic will help his teammates

PAP/EPA / Marcin Cholewiński / In the photo: Novak Djokovic, 2023 US Open champion

Marcin Motyka

The group stage matches of the 2023 Davis Cup finals will take place from September 12 to 17. National teams will include: Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray and Frances Tiafoe.

This is the fourth edition of the Davis Cup after the controversial reform, where the formula of two-way matches was abolished. Over the next six days, 16 teams in four groups in four different cities will compete to advance to the Final 8 tournament.

Italy, Canada, Sweden and Chile will play in Group A in Bologna. Great Britain, Australia, France and Switzerland have been placed in Group B in Manchester. Group C in Valencia will feature Spain, Serbia, Czech Republic and South Korea. Group D, which will participate in Split, was made up of Croatia, the Netherlands, the United States and Finland.

The biggest star of the tournament will be Novak Djokovic. The Serbian, who won the US Open on Sunday and won the 24th Grand Slam title of his career, and who is again leader of the ranking since Monday, will come to Bologna directly from New York, so it is difficult to assume that he will be in great shape and available from the first match. They will also help their teams, among others: American Frances Tiafoe, British Andy Murray and Australian Alex de Minaur.

However, several teams will play very weakened. The reigning Canadian champions will play without Félix Auger-Aliassime, the Americans without Taylor Fritz and the Croatians with Marina Cilic. In turn, the Spanish team will not include Carlos Alcaraz, and rumors about the start of the still injured Rafael Nadal have not been confirmed.

The group stage of the 2023 Davis Cup finals will take place from September 12 to 17. The best two teams from each group will advance to the Final 8, which will be played in November in Malaga.

Division into groups and team compositions:

Group A (Bologna):

Italy (Lorenzo Musetti, Lorenzo Sonego, Matteo Arnaldi, Andrea Vavassori, Simone Bolelli)
Canada (Denis Shapovalov, Gabriel Diallo, Vasek Pospisil, Alexis Galarneau, Kelsey Stevenson)
Chile (Nicolas Jarry, Cristian Garin, Tomas Barrios Vera, Alejandro Tabilo, Gonzalo Lama)
Sweden (Elias Ymer, Leo Borg, Karl Friberg, Filip Bergevi, Andre Goransson)

Group B (Manchester):

Great Britain (Cameron Norrie, Daniel Evans, Andy Murray, Jack Draper, Neal Skupski)
Australia (Alex de Minaur, Max Purcell, Jordan Thompson, Thanasi Kokkinakis, Matthew Ebden)
France (Adrian Mannarino, Ugo Humbert, Arthur Fils, Edouard Roger-Vasselin, Nicolas Mahut)
Switzerland (Stan Wawrinka, Dominic Stricker, Marc-Andrea Huesler, Leandro Riedi, Alexander Ritschard)

Group C (Valencia):

Spain (Alejandro Davidovich, Roberto Bautista, Bernabe Zapata, Albert Ramos, Marcel Granollers)
Czech Republic (Jiri Lehecka, Tomas Machac, Jakub Mensik, Adam Pavlasek)
Serbia (Novak Djokovic, Laslo Djere, Miomir Kecmanović, Dusan Lajović, Nikola Cacić)
South Korea (Soonwoo Kwon, Seongchan Hong, Yunseong Chung, Ji Sung Nam, Min-Kyu Song)

Group D (Split):

Croatia (Borna Gojo, Dino Prizmić, Duje Ajduković, Ivan Dodig, Mate Pavić)
Finland (Emil Ruusuvuori, Otto Virtanen, Patrick Kaukovalta, Harri Heliovaara, Patrik Niklas-Salminen)
Netherlands (Tallon Griekspoor, Botic van de Zandschulp, Gijs Brouwer, Wesley Koolhof, Matwe Middelkoop)
United States (Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul, Mackenzie McDonald, Austin Krajicek, Rajeev Ram)

Novak Djokovic wants more. “Moments like this and this kind of emotion are what motivates me.”

WATCH VIDEO: #dziejesiewsporcie: Sabalenka started. “A special place in my heart”
Watch WTA Tour matches with Iga Świątek, Magda Linette and other top players on CANAL+ online (Sponsored link)

Alec Dittman

"Web specialist. Social media ninja. Amateur food aficionado. Alcohol advocate. General creator. Beer guru."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *