Davis Cup: Canada in the final

The first clash between Italian Lorenzo Sony and Canadian Denis Shapovalov was the fiercest. A European tennis player needed three sets to win against a higher ranked opponent. The Canadian Félix Auger-Aliassime, 6th in the ATP rankings, played the role of favorite, confidently beating Lorenzo Musetti in two games.

SEE ALSO: She Was A Tennis Player, Now She’s ‘Number One Influencer’ (PHOTOS)

In this situation, the promotion of one of the teams was decided in doubles. Auger-Aliassime took to the court again, with Vasko Pospisil beating the Italian duo of Matteo Berrettini and Fabio Fognini in straight sets.

The Australians have won the Davis Cup 28 times, but the last time was in 2003. They then beat Spain 3-1 in the final. They are the second most prosperous nation after the United States. North American tennis players have never been the best in competition.

The Canada-Australia final will take place on Sunday.

In World Group I, sixteen teams entered the competition – they were divided into four groups. Two teams from each group qualified for the knockout stage.

From the quarter-finals, the competition takes place according to the knockout system in Malaga.

Reigning champions Russia, who beat Croatia 2-0 in the last final, were banned from the tournament following sanctions imposed by the International Tennis Federation (ITF) after the armed invasion of Ukraine .

The results of Saturday’s semi-finals:

Canada – Italy 2:1

Lorenzo Sonego (Italy) – Denis Shapovalov (Canada) 7-6 (7-4), 6-7 (5-7), 6-4

Felix Auger-Aliassime (Canada) v Lorenzo Musetti (Italy) 6-3, 6-4

Felix Auger-Aliassime, Vasek Pospisil (Canada) – Matteo Berrettini, Fabio Fognini 7-6 (7-2), 7-5


Go to Polsatsport.pl

Alec Dittman

"Web specialist. Social media ninja. Amateur food aficionado. Alcohol advocate. General creator. Beer guru."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *