Poland among 41 countries with a signature on the declaration on war…

Poland and 40 other government delegations adopted another statement on Russia’s war with Ukraine and international sport. It was made public at the 7th International Conference of Ministers and Senior Officials Responsible for Sport, organized under the auspices of UNESCO in Baku.

The statement said 317 Ukrainian athletes and coaches have been killed since Russia launched its full-scale invasion of Ukraine until June 16. As a result of Russian shelling and shelling, 363 sports facilities were destroyed or damaged, including the famous stadium which is part of the Olympic sports training center in Chernihiv and the “Altajir” ice rink in Druzhkivka.

“Russia’s unprovoked and unwarranted invasion has destroyed the infrastructure throughout Ukraine that supports sport, physical education and physical activity and contributes significantly to the health and well-being of citizens Children’s access to sport, exercise and physical education has been disrupted or prevented due to the war started by Russia.

The signatories of the document claim that “Russia’s war of aggression is an attack on sport, physical education and physical activity of Ukrainian citizens and will have a profound long-term impact on their physical and mental health. same time, however, we appreciate the extraordinary resilience, dedication and bravery of many Ukrainians who, in these terrifying circumstances, try to continue practicing sport, exercise and physical education, whether in gyms , gyms, schools, workplaces, or at home and elsewhere.

A group of 41 high-level sports ministers and related officials from like-minded countries believe that Russia cannot be allowed to use sport to legitimize its illegal and unprovoked aggression against Ukraine; Nor should Belarus be allowed to use sport to legitimize its complicity in Russia’s war of aggression.

It was stressed that the Russian Federation must immediately cease its military aggression, cease its attacks on Ukraine and withdraw all its forces and military equipment from all Ukrainian territory within its internationally recognized borders, including including its territorial waters.

Among the signatories of the declaration are 24 countries of the European Union, as well as Australia, Great Britain, Canada, New Zealand, Ukraine, Japan, Norway, Switzerland, Montenegro, Georgia, Iceland, Moldova, Albania, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Cook Islands.

Russia’s armed aggression against Ukraine, supported by Belarus, has been going on since February 24 last year. (PAP)

mask/ screams/

Alec Dittman

"Web specialist. Social media ninja. Amateur food aficionado. Alcohol advocate. General creator. Beer guru."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *