Hockey World Cup: Sweden – Canada 2:1 after penalty shootout in the final

In the final in Cologne, Swedish hockey players beat Canadians 2:1 (0:0, 1:0, 0:1 – 0:0, 1:0) and became world champions for the 10th time . In the bronze medal match, Russia won with Finland 5:3.

In the group stage, the Swedes lost two matches against theoretically strongest rivals – Russia and the USA, but from the quarter-finals they did well. In the last three games, they have conceded only one goal, thanks to Henrik Lundqvist. The New York Rangers goaltender joined the team during the tournament, when his club finished competing in the NHL. It was the 35-year-old player, gold medalist at the Turin Olympics (2006), who was one of the heroes in the final battle.

The meeting, although not very rich in goals, could be appreciated. Both teams were attacking and attacking again and again. The Canadians fired 43 rounds in total and the Swedes just one less.

Victor Hedman opened the scoring just before the end of the second period, and Ryan O’Reilly equalized early in the third game. The runners-up didn’t slow down even in injury time, but alongside Lundqvist his Calvin Pickard was also terrific against Lundqvist.

In criminal cases, the representatives of “Trzy Korony” were much better. The Canadians missed one of four attempts, and in addition to Nicklas Backstroem in the second set, Oliver Ekman-Larsson also hit the next one.

It was only the second time in World Cup history that the title was decided on penalties. Previously, it was in 1994 when Canada beat Finland.

Maple Leaf hockey players after two consecutive successes have to settle for a silver medal. The last team to win three consecutive World Cups is the Czech Republic; Winners 1999-2001.

The Swedes were the best team in the world before in 2013. They faced Canada in the final for the fourth time and they lost all previous confrontations (in 1997, 2003 and 2004).

Sweden – Canada 2:1 after penalty shootout (0:0, 1:0, 0:1 – 0:0, 1:0).

Goals: for Sweden – Victor Hedman (40′), Nicklas Backstroem (winner’s penalty); for Canada – Ryan O’Reilly (42′).

Penalties: Sweden – 8; Canada – 10 mins.


Go to

Alec Dittman

"Web specialist. Social media ninja. Amateur food aficionado. Alcohol advocate. General creator. Beer guru."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *